Reading and Writing Challenge Month – Day 3

At last some progress. Today I’ve made it through about half of John Wyndham’s The Day of the Triffids, glanced through most of The Sartorialist and listened to two discs of The Finkler Question. Admittedly, in my attempts to make the most of my first audio book, I was doing other things and not concentrating for parts of that second disc. It’s undoubtedly a different experience to reading, even if with headphones it’s just a different voice inside the caverns of your own head. But it still requires you to put other activities aside and disappear into the narrative. It’s a very personal performance, just for you, by the actor/reader, but I’ll save the rest of my thoughts on it for another time.

Tomorrow I aim to tackle short stories and work towards an article on that genre in particular. I’ll also continue my audio book (there are twelve discs) and hopefully finish Triffids. I’m afraid that’s just about it, as I should get on with the reading, or embrace some sleep. I haven’t decided which yet.

2 responses to “Reading and Writing Challenge Month – Day 3

  1. If you’re going to tackle short-stories, then I highly recommend a book called ‘My Mistress’s Sparrow is Dead’; it’s an utterly brilliany collection of short love stores: the twist is, they are all very rare/obscure stories written by otherwise very famous authors. Nabokov’s ‘Spring in Fialta’ is in there.

    Check it out!
    Tomcat.

  2. I’ve got an odd mix of Hemingway, Mann, Murakami, Chekhov and Ishiguro lined up at the moment, but will definitely check this out. Thanks very much!

Leave a Reply

